top of page
About Houjicha
About Houjicha

How to make tasty roasted tea


The power of the

scent of roasted tea


How to brew the

roasted tea tastily


Classification of Cha



The leaves of Camellia sinensis, or "CHANOKI", contains an oxidative enzyme called polyphenol oxidaze.  When the picked leaves are crumpled well, the tissue cells inside are broken, their contents are mixed, and the oxidative enzymes hasten fermentation.   Based on the manners to control the fermentation, we can classify tea into about five sorts.









1.   GREEN TEA / Non-fermented tea 

(processed without any oxydative fermentation;  relative fermentation grade: 0%)


The tea leaves are put under heat treatment to deactivate the oxidative enzyme in them, immediately after they are picked (when picked off, the leaves have already started light fermentation.) The heating is done either with water vapour, which is a method peculiar to Japan, or in an iron pot, as is practiced in a part of Kyushu region or in China. With the enzymes deactivated, the ingredients of the produced tea can remain almost as they are in fresh leaves. In particular, the tea perserves the green of the leaves well, and thus is called green tea.



1.   緑茶 / 不発酵茶

(酸化発酵を行わないもの。発酵度 0%)



bottom of page